SANTA FE—Today, House Republicans renewed their request to Governor Michelle Lujan Grisham to redeploy National Guard troops to border and create a state-led crisis response team to coordinate activities related to the border emergency in New Mexico. The lawmakers resubmitted their request in response to the letter Lujan Grisham sent to them on May 21.

“Your letter validated the need for a state-led crisis response team. In your letter, you stated that the state Department of Homeland Security and Emergency Management ‘has maintained a consistent and vocal presence in affected communities.’ Maintaining a presence is not the same as coordination and leadership. Your letter outlined the activities of several state agencies, nonprofits, and incident command systems in two cities. These activities could benefit from a central lead entity that can identify resources, coordinate activities, and act as a clearinghouse for communication,” the representatives wrote.

They added, “you stated it is cost-prohibitive to deploy National Guard Troops to the border. If New Mexico can afford to provide $250 million to subsidize the entertainment industry, you can surely find the funds necessary to protect the safety, security, and health of New Mexicans. You also stated a military response to a humanitarian matter is misguided. State National Guards have frequently participated in humanitarian missions. Our request is not a ‘cynical ploy;’ it is in line with the traditional role played by the National Guard in times of crisis.”

Nineteen Republican representatives endorsed the letter. They include House Republican Leader James Townsend (R-Artesia), House Republican Whip Rod Montoya (R-Farmington), Rep. Candy Spence Ezzell (R-Roswell), Rep. Rachel Black (R-Alamogordo), Rep. Cathrynn Brown (R-Carlsbad), Rep. Greg Nibert (R-Roswell), Rep. Randy Crowder (R-Clovis), Rep Larry Scott (R-Hobbs), Rep. James Strickler (R-Farmington), Rep. Tim Lewis (R-Rio Rancho), Rep. Kelly Fajardo (R-Los Lunas), Rep. Paul Bandy (R-Aztec), Rep. Jack Chatfield (R-Mosquero), Rep. Gregg Schmedes (R-Tijeras), Rep. Martin Zamora (R-Clovis), Rep. David Gallegos (R-Eunice), Rep. Phelps Anderson (R-Roswell),  Rep Zach Cook (R- Ruidoso), and Rep Jason Harper (R-Rio Rancho)